At UPC we hold that all the members of the church are involved in ministry and thus are ministers of the church. We take that belief seriously. We also have called and elected officers of the church: session members, deacons, and pastors. All work collaboratively to guide, direct, and empower others in the ministry of the church.

UPC’s Ruling Elders

Ruling Elders serve alongside pastors in the governance of the church. Ruling elders exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church, including ecumenical relationships.

Class of 2022
Jennifer Bravinder
Rosa Campbell – Youth Elder
Steven Hartmann – Personnel & Administration Committee Chair
Junita Meier – Fellowship Committee Chair
Mary Mikell – Nurture Committee Chair
Darla O’Connor – Membership Committee Chair
Kristen Savicki

Class of 2023
Jerry Kennedy – Worship Committee Chair
Dave Launey – Property Committee Chair
Kay Lindsey – Day School Committee Co-Chair
Wes Mainord
Paul Nguyen – Day School Committee Co-Chair
Janet Whyde

Class of 2024
Rick Bowles
Griffin Campbell – Faith Formation Committee Chair
Melanie Driscoll
Gary Meise
Diana Reynolds
Lynne Wallace

UPC’s Deacons

Deacons: The ministry of deacon is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress.

Class of 2022
Pat Ho
Kelly Kerr
Amybeth Mainord
Beth Paskoff
Robbie Phillabaum
Frances Sullivan-Gonzalez

Class of 2023
Jill Clemmons – Moderator of Deacons
Deanna Black
Beverly Jones
Victoria Robertson
Kathy Rossman
Gus Rowland

Class of 2024
Margaret Bach
Ellen Morgan
Karen Paterson
Carolin Purser
Linda Walker
Mary Wardlaw




3240 Dalrymple Drive
Baton Rouge, LA 70802

(225)383-3495 FAX


Created by dezinsINTERACTIVE.

© Copyright 2015-2019 University Presbyterian Church of Baton Rouge. All rights reserved.